Viral spamming alert on AmusementPeople.com to warn people that this brand new website is highly suspicious and to avoid it completely. It’s so new that it’s not even listed in Google, Yahoo or MSN, yet thousands of people are searching for information about amusementpeople.com because of viral spam techniques promising a funny or sexy video referred by a friend.
AmusementPeople.com domain was registered through GoDaddy on August 24, 2007 (see screenshot below), but the actual web site is being served up from a second website, CoolStuff2See.com. Strangely enough, even that site says it’s under construction on it’s blank home page.
The actual AmusementPeople.com website is being served up from this internal folder, appropriately labelled “skanks” at this URL (see source code screenshot): http://www.coolstuff2see.com/skanks/register.htmlÂ
The new amusementpeople.com web site operators don’t seem to think too much about their site visitors. Take a look at the script label for the oversized ringtones pitch (see screenshot above). It’s called “The new shady” so you really gotta wonder…
Here’s the Amusement People web site so you don’t have to go there:
Next, the amusement people throw a stalker script at you when you try to close the ringtones offer window. See the picture of the “Alert message” popup that claims “We have detected that someone has looked at your profile 9 times in the past 24 hours!”
So, www.amusementpeople.com is using scarcity (via the timed ringtones offer countdown that pauses at 1 and doesn’t close) and danger (via the stalker message) to override your caution and get you to enter your email address and password to gain access.
Then they give you another logical reason to justify giving up your personal information with this message: “Due to the popularity of this video, this site does not allow “automated scripts” or “bots” which could clog video server bandwidth. To prove you are a human, and not an automated script, you must manually type below for free temporary access to view this video.”
Of course, that’s all bullcrap! They just want your email address, plus most people use the same password as their email login, so you’re leaving yourself wide open…
Basically, the whole site is a scam to sell you a monthly ringtone plan via a text message signup that adds it to your phone bill. Or, they capture your email address with their skanky tricks and then spam you to death with other crazy, but lucrative (for them, not you) offers.
Update to the ongoing MySpace bulletin phishing scam:
Every time someone actually enters their email and password on one of these sites, it’s used to log into MySpace and send more spam bulletins to all their friends and so on and so on. These guys are creating multiple duplicate sites, so watch out for these as well.
http://hitsusa.com/blog/48/bestthiswaycom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/47/bestubelievecom-warning/
Another one last week was explainthese.com and that fooled a lot of people because it grabs your MySpace profile pic when you click the link, so you think it’s real. If you entered your email and password on any of these sites, then change your password. Tell your friend you got the bulletin from to change their password too because these guys will keep using their MySpace login to send more spam bulletins and your profile could get deleted for spamming.
So, be warned! Stay away from anything like this amusementpeople.com website.

August 26th, 2007 at 11:35 am
saw it on a MySpace bulletin saying “is this u on amusementpeople.com?” then when u try to leave it says 9 people have looked at your profile today and i was worried someebody posted pics of me or something!!!
thanks for the warning! couldnt find anything about it anywhere else…
August 26th, 2007 at 5:22 pm
You bastards invaded my site & thur in a virus.
Shitheads like you must have nothing better to do with your time!
I suggest you get a F U C K I N G life!!!
August 26th, 2007 at 6:09 pm
Dude!
We’re trying to warn people away from this trojan site! We’ve got absolutely nothing to do with it…
Sites like this pop up all the time, but people keep falling for their tricks.
Protect yourself. Get the free Zone Alarm firewall and the free AVG anti-virus protection. Set your browser not to accept ActiveX controls without a prompt.
Links to free downloads of these PC protection programs are here:
http://spamvirushelp.com/
P.S. - they’ve got free spam filters you can use as well…
August 26th, 2007 at 9:30 pm
Watch out for it’s identical twin: bestubelieve.com which is served up from the exact same coolstuff2see.com/skanks/register.html page.
New warning is here:
http://hitsusa.com/blog/47/bestubelievecom-warning/
August 26th, 2007 at 11:13 pm
Very interesting stuff. Thanks for the warning here!
It amazes me that brand new sites like this can get such high search rankings in Google Trends without even being indexed yet. Spamming at its worst, I guess.
August 28th, 2007 at 8:17 pm
I got a similiar msg like Poptart. And I also felt the same way, like did someone post pictures or video of me? Or something they made up using my picture?
I rec’d this msg: is this u at bestthisway.com
I reply, but it said: Your message did not pass the spam filter.
August 28th, 2007 at 8:30 pm
Sweet-n-luvly,
Change your MySpace password because they’ll be using your login to send more spam bulletins. If you don’t MySpace may delete YOUR profile for spamming!
There is no content at this site. If they don’t get you with the ringtones hustle, they’re working you over in several other ways.
It’s all a scam to harvest email adresses to sell to other spammers and also to put viruses and spyware on your computer that will make them money in other ways like popup ads and identity theft.
Be careful. Make sure you do a virus scan ASAP!
August 30th, 2007 at 12:29 am
Here’s more phishing websites from the same guys:
http://hitsusa.com/blog/62/celeblookalikeonlinecom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/58/coolyoungpeoplecom/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/57/happyyoungpeoplecom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/56/hotyoungpeoplecom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/55/shockingrevelationcom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/48/bestthiswaycom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/47/bestubelievecom-warning/
August 30th, 2007 at 3:55 pm
Here’s the latest status on all the phishing sites:
http://hitsusa.com/blog/65/celeblookalikesitecom/
August 31st, 2007 at 4:16 pm
I got an email from a friend telling me that I am on bestubelieve.com. I don’t know what these people are doing but they are invading peoples privacy and they should be punished. Obviously they were never taught right from wrong, and if they were then they just choose to be idiots that don’t have a life of their own, so they go and try to get into everyone elses. Grow the fuck up and deal with your life, stop trying to get into everyone elses. ASSHOLES!!!
March 3rd, 2008 at 12:32 pm
List of MySpace Ringtones Scam Websites
http://hitsusa.com/blog/522/uploadthumbnails-com/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/304/www-findyourcrush-org/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/110/celebratedpic-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/105/friendstatus-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/104/bestfreepeople-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/102/myfriendrank-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/100/friendrateronline-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/98/coolindividuals-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/97/coolindividual-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/94/officialbestgroup-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/93/bestcoolgroup-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/87/revengeoncamcom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/62/celeblookalikeonlinecom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/58/coolyoungpeoplecom/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/57/happyyoungpeoplecom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/56/hotyoungpeoplecom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/55/shockingrevelationcom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/48/bestthiswaycom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/47/bestubelievecom-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/46/amusementpeoplecom-warning/
March 10th, 2008 at 1:16 pm
Couple more ringtones scam website warnings:
http://hitsusa.com/blog/523/vegasfunpics-com/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/525/greatpicparty-com-warning/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/528/crazypicssite-com/
http://hitsusa.com/blog/531/debsfunphotos-com-warning/
March 31st, 2008 at 6:06 pm
[...] broadcaster.http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23446255-2902,00.html?from=public_rssAmusementPeople.com Warning!Danger Will Robinson! Viral spamming alert on AmusementPeople.com to warn people that this brand new [...]