GotSpringCrush.com – The website www.gotspringcrush.com tries to trick you into signing up for expensive text messaging services by promoting itself as having information about your secret crush.
The GotSpringCrush.com website is the latest in a long line of scam websites that use fake MySpace messages to lure the unwary into disclosing your cell number and PIN code by using the old crush calculator or love calculator trick.
It’s all a big scam that creates a false sense of urgency by giving you a 2-minute countdown – pictured below – to enter your PIN number and get your crush details.
Once you enter your cellphone and your PIN at GotSpringCrush.com, you’ve signed up for incredibly expensive text messages that are nothing but stupid horoscopes.
And for that stupid set of text messages that have nothing to do with your secret crush, huge amounts like $5.99 weekly or $19.99 monthly are added to your cellphone bill.
Avoid sites like www.gotspringcrush.com because they are nothing but a big scam. You get nothing of value for your money. Most people never realize they signed up for a horoscope text message service until they start getting enormous charges added to their cellphone bills.
The only worthwhile information on this scam website is this: “Your sole remedy is to cease using the Service by texting “STOP” to 75557.”
And that’s the deal on the latest “secret crush” website that tricks you into paying big bucks for really lame text messages, GotSpringCrush.com
Tags: fake MySpace bulletins, fake MySpace messages, findyourcrush.org, gotspringcrush.com, horoscope text messages, Scams, secret crush, www.gotspringcrush.com
March 8th, 2008 at 1:19 pm
These “secret crush” websites also get spread with a lot of text message spam, so you might find you’ve gotten lots of messages about finding out who has a crush on you at http://www.gotspringcrush.com or http://www.ugotacrush.com
Don’t even bother entering your cell phone number and PIN because there’s nothing there. It’s all just a scam…
March 8th, 2008 at 3:04 pm
Another really lame version of this horoscope text message scam is http://www.yougotcrushedon.com where they didn’t even get the iframe set up correctly because the site’s setup with a free hosting service.
All three sites are the same scam:
http://www.gotspringcrush.com
http://www.ugotacrush.com
http://www.yougotcrushedon.com
They are all frontends served up from this website:
http://www.thelovercalculator.com/
July 19th, 2008 at 1:03 am
[...] HitUSA.com warns about Got Spring Crush/gotspringcrush.com, ugotacrush.com and ugotcrushedon.com. [...]
March 22nd, 2009 at 6:33 pm
who falls for this lame scam? what would a phone number and pin number have to do with your crush? and how the hell would they know information like that anyways.
April 13th, 2009 at 4:37 pm
We at Mobile Messenger would like to assist you with your concern or complaint. If you need assistance in regards to being unsubscribed or other related issues, please do not hesitate to contact us. Please call 1-800-416-6129 Monday to Friday 0600 – 1800 US Pacific Time or email escalationsus@sms-helpdesk.com